School operations

Student Resource Package – Core Student Learning Allocation Funding (Student-Based Funding)

Small School Base (Reference 3)

A Small School Base is provided to primary schools with less than 80.1 students and secondary schools with less than 400 students.

For primary schools, the base reduces as enrolments increase. For multi-site primary schools, the base and taper is applied for each site.

For secondary schools, the base is a flat amount up to 110 enrolments after which it reduces as enrolments increase. For multi-campus colleges, the base and taper is applied for each campus.


Schools with the following campus types are eligible for the Small School Base funding at a campus level:

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • Primary/Secondary Combined
  • Community
  • Training Center

The following campuses do not receive this allocation.

School numberCampus numberSchool name
35526Yarra Me School
62122Collingwood College
75952Bendigo Senior Secondary College
80032Lynall Hall Community School
80033Lynall Hall Community School
88513Wodonga Middle Years College
88908Charles La Trobe P-12 College
88909Charles La Trobe P-12 College
89171Centre for Higher Education Studies
89165Parkville College

Funding is calculated at the Indicative, Confirmed and Revised budget cycles. Funding is allocated through credit and cash funding.


Small School Base (Primary where enrolment is less than 80.1) = Primary base + (Primary enrolment × Taper)

Small School Base (Secondary where enrolment is less than 400) = Secondary base + [(Secondary enrolment − 110) × Taper]

Example: A secondary campus with 300 enrolments would calculate their funding as: Secondary base + [(300 − 110) × Secondary taper]

Rates 2024

Small School Adjustment BaseCredit ($)Cash ($)Total ($)
Small School Adjustment TaperCredit ($)Cash ($)Total ($)
Reference 3 of the SRP Guide, providing information on small school base funding including eligibility, funding calculations and rates

Reviewed 31 December 2023

Was this page helpful?