Human resources

Innovative Initial Teacher Education Programs


Innovative initial teacher education (ITE) programs seek to boost the supply of teachers in Victorian government secondary schools, particularly in outer-metropolitan, rural and remote locations and priority subject areas.

The Department is working in partnership with the following 5 universities to attract and train local teachers for eligible government schools:

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Deakin University
  • Federation University
  • Monash University
  • University of Melbourne.

All program participants (Participants) will be formally matched with a host school for the duration of the Innovative ITE program.

For each participating university’s program, resources for host schools and Participants are available on the Resources tab. These resources provide information on the innovative ITE programs and the expectations of each party.

Relevant legislation

Contact information

Secondary schools that are or would be interested in participating in the program may contact the Schools Recruitment Unit on:


Tel: 1800 641 943

Participants should contact their university for all enrolment and program queries.

Prospective ITE participants are encouraged to visit the accelerated learning program webpage for more information and links to participating universities.

Overview of innovative initial teacher education (ITE) programs

Reviewed 16 February 2021

Policy last updated

16 February 2021


  • Schools


There are multiple contacts for this topic. Refer to the contact information heading at the bottom of the page

Was this page helpful?