Flying flags

Australian National Flag

The Australian Government presents an Australian National Flag to every new government school upon opening. If a new flag is required, schools can request a replacement from either the federal member of parliament for their electoral division or a senator from the state of Victoria.

When and how to fly the Australian flag

Schools must fly the Australian National Flag on the following days if they are open:

  • 3 September – National Flag Day:
    • commemorating the first official flying of Australian flags at the Royal Exhibition Buildings in Melbourne on 3 September 1901
  • 11 November – Remembrance Day with flags flown at:
    • the masthead from 8 am to 10:30 am
    • half-mast from 10:30 am to 11:02 am
    • the masthead from 11:02 am to the close of business.

Schools may also raise the Australian National Flag:

  • at the beginning of each school day, flying the flag between 8 am and the close of business, other than on special occasions
  • when providing an opportunity for students to reflect on the current flag, its history and future.

Flying more than one flag

Where Victorian government schools have multiple flagpoles, school principals may choose to display other flags alongside the Australian National Flag, ensuring the flags are consistent with the department's values, and in line with the Australian National Flag protocolsExternal Link set by the Australian Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Schools must:

  • give precedence to the Australian National Flag over all other flags
  • not fly 2 flags on one pole
  • fly the Australian National Flag on the flagpole to the left of any other flags, when a person is facing the building.

If the school has one flagpole, the Australian National Flag must be flown as it takes precedence over all other flags.

If the school has 2 flagpoles, the Australian and Victorian flags should be flown in the following order:

  • Australian flag
  • Victorian flag.

If the school has 3 or more flagpoles, the Australian, Victorian, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags should be flown in the following order (the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags can be interchanged):

  • Australian flag
  • Victorian flag
  • Aboriginal flag
  • Torres Straight Islander flag.

Commemorative or celebratory flags

Commemorative or celebratory flags can be displayed or flown on additional flag poles, however the Australian National Flag, Victorian State Flag, Aboriginal Flag or the Torres Strait Islander Flag must not be displaced to fly these flags. Commemorative or celebratory flags can also be displayed on an internal flagpole within a school building.

Examples of commemorative or celebratory events:

  • 21 March – Harmony Day to celebrate Australia's cultural diversity and support inclusiveness, respect and a sense of belonging for everyone
  • 27 May to 3 June – National Reconciliation Week to recognise:
    • 27 May as the anniversary of the 1967 referendum which successfully removed clauses from the Constitution that discriminated against Indigenous Australians
    • 3 June as Eddie Mabo Day, the anniversary of the High Court decision in the Eddie Mabo land rights case of 1992 recognised by Torres Strait Islanders.
  • July, a nominated week – NAIDOC Week (National Aboriginal and Islanders Day Observance Committee) to celebrate and promote greater understanding of Indigenous peoples and culture
  • 1 July – 'Coming of the Light' celebration day for Torres Strait Islanders.

Information about flying the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag (as well as the Australian National Flag and other Australian flags) is available on the Australian Government website of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet at Australian flagsExternal Link .

Includes information on the Australian National Flag and flying other flags

Reviewed 14 September 2023

Was this page helpful?